Lololi740

Trying to improve my life

Product Review: Avalon Organics Lemon Clarifying Shampoo

***Disclaimer: This is not a paid review. No one from Avalon Organics or Whole Foods has requested this review or paid money for it. I purchased the product with my own money.

PIC_0444

PIC_0395

As you can see from the photo I have kinky afro textured hair. Most commercial shampoos can wreak havoc on my hair because they can strip my hair of all its natural oils and leave a knotted, tangled mess in its wake. So I decided last year to test out shampoos. I use a clarifying shampoo once a month, usually on the first weekend of the month, and a moisturizing shampoo the rest of the month. First up Avalon Organics Clarifying Lemon shampoo.

What I want: What I look for in a clarifying shampoo is a product that will remove build up from styling products, excess sebum and pollution without stripping my hair entirely. When I use harsh shampoos I end up with a tangled birds nest on my head. If my hair is stripped entirely of natural oils my kinky curls clump up and wrap around each other causing knots. If a clarifying does not fully clean my hair I end up with build up continuing to mount on my scalp and hair. I also want a product free of skin irritating chemicals. The FDA receives numerous complaints about shampoos each year. Citing eye and scalp irritation, split hair, swelling of the face and hands, and tangled hair.

Duration of use: I have been using the Avalon Organics Clarifying Lemon shampoo since October of 2012.

Attributes: It has a nice lemon scent and a thick consistency, but not too thick. It pours nicely from the bottle but doesn’t run off my hand. The label claims that it is made from 70% organic materials; free of parabens, synthetic colors or fragrances, phthalates and sulfates; no animal testing; 100% vegetarian ingredients; “bottle made with 100% recycled material”.

Pros: It cleans superbly. It definitely removes a months worth of product, sebum, and pollution from my hair. My hair feels rough to the touch after using it. That is to say that I can feel that there is no product remaining on my hair. That being said my hair does not tangle and knot up after the wash.

Cons: None thus far.

Cost: $7.99 at Whole Foods for 11 fl. oz (approximately 0.73 cent per oz)

One comment on “Product Review: Avalon Organics Lemon Clarifying Shampoo

  1. Anna
    May 14, 2014

    Great, sounds like it really works! and the smell is OK, that is also important!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 18, 2013 by in Product Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 64 other followers

My website

www.LololiCosmetics.com

Instagram

Went to the Met last night with these lovely ladies. Every time I go I find new rooms that I haven't been in before. Happy New Year!
