Lololi740

Trying to improve my life

Product Review: Karen’s Body Beautiful Sweet Ambrosia Leave-In Conditioner

*I received this product for free in a grab bag at a natural hair meet up. No one from Karen’s Body Beautiful has contacted me requesting a review.

Karen’s Body Beautiful was founded in 2003 by Karen Tappin-Saunderson. It began as a home based business that now has its product line in some Target stores, a storefront in Brooklyn, NY and a spa. The products are made from natural ingredients.

Karen's Body Beautiful Sweet Ambrosia Leave-In Conditioner

Karen’s Body Beautiful Sweet Ambrosia Leave-In Conditioner

Product: Sweet Ambrosia Leave-in Conditioner

What I want: I am looking for a leave-in conditioner that will leave my hair moisturized for several days. I do not want to have to re-moisturize my hair everyday.

Duration of use: 3 weeks

Attributes: All natural ingredients. Watery consistency. No parabens, propylene glycol, mineral oil, etc…

Pros: I have the Pomegranate Guava scent and it smells amazing!

Cons: Did not moisturize my hair. I used the product as directed. For the first use, I applied it to freshly washed damp hair. I did not seal in with an oil because I wanted to see how the product would work on my kinky afro textured hair by itself. No moisture was retained. My hair was bone dry. The next technique I used to apply this product was applying it on freshly washed hair, and this time I sealed with an oil followed by a cream product. While my hair was not as dry as the first usage, I still had to re-moisturize the next day and it left my hair rough to the touch. The next method I used to apply this product was to apply to it damp hair immediately before stepping into a hot shower (I take 20-30 minute showers). This is a technique that I use in the winter when applying products that have glycerin in them. I again sealed with an oil and cream product. I got the best results using this method and my hair retained moisture longer.

Cost: $16.00 USD per 8.5 oz/250 mL (approximately $1.88/oz)

Final Thoughts: I would not purchase this product. It did not moisturize my hair at all. I have other leave-in conditioners that do a better job for my hair. This may work better for wavy or curly texture or if you have a different need or expectation for the product, such as using it as a detangler. I will try other products from their line and see how those work for me.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 64 other followers

My website

www.LololiCosmetics.com

Instagram

Went to the Met last night with these lovely ladies. Every time I go I find new rooms that I haven't been in before. Happy New Year!
