Lololi740

Trying to improve my life

Blanched Almonds and Chopped Vanilla Beans

I working on a couple of soaping projects and I needed some almond meal and vanilla sugar (sugar infused with vanilla beans). Now I’m way too cheap to go and buy pre-made items just for test batches, and a lot of those pre-made items have additives that I don’t want in my final product. I also had a bag of almonds and a couple of vanilla beans lying around so I decided to make them myself. I’ll be using both in DIY scrubs.

Almond Meal

First step in making almond meal is to blanch the almonds. The entire process takes less than 10 minutes.

I used one cup of unsalted almonds.

1 cup of almonds

1 cup of almonds

 

Boil some water in a pan. 

Boiling Water

Boiling Water

 

Add the walnuts. Let boil for one minute. No more than one minute.

Boiling Almonds

Boiling Almonds

After a minute drain the walnuts.

Drained Almonds

Drained Almonds

Run cold water over them to help cool them down.

Cold Water

Cold Water

Pat dry with a paper towel. The skins will be wrinkled.

PIC_0865PIC_0866

The simply squeeze the almond until the nut separates from the skin. Caution they can go flying. I lost one that way. You can also peel the skin from the almond.

Peeling Almonds

Peeling Almonds

Let the peeled almonds dry out thoroughly before placing in coffee grinder process into almond meal.

Peeled and dried almond

Peeled and dried almond

 

Dried Almonds

Dried Almonds

 

Almond Meal

Almond Meal

Vanilla Sugar

This is super easy!

I ground up the vanilla beans in my coffee grinder and mixed them in with the sugar. I will let this concoction sit for 2 weeks before use.

Vanilla Bean Pods

Vanilla Bean Pods

 

Ground vanilla pods and vegan sugar

Ground vanilla pods and vegan sugar

 

Vanilla Sugar

Vanilla Sugar

Note: You can also split the pods and scrape the beans out into an airtight container. Place the split pods in with the beans. Next put the sugar into the container and seal. Let this sit for 2 weeks before use.

Vanilla sugar can be used in coffee and cocoa for added flavor.

One comment on “Blanched Almonds and Chopped Vanilla Beans

  1. Pingback: DIY Gifts: Infused Sugars « Brooklyn Locavore

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 64 other followers

My website

www.LololiCosmetics.com

Instagram

Went to the Met last night with these lovely ladies. Every time I go I find new rooms that I haven't been in before. Happy New Year!
